Seedbox

After discovering that I can’t use BitTorrent on the Hull University network (not surprised really), I have no way to download live recordings from http://www.dimeadozen.org. I didn’t think this would bother me, but with Wishbone Ash on tour in the UK and lots of recordings from the tour on the site, I decided to take action. I thought about SSH tunneling but decided it was more trouble than worth, so I have ordered a seedbox for a month for the princely sum of $8 (roughly £5). A seedbox is a machine that is dedicated to bittorrent transfers and are rented out to users either in the same situation as myself, those who have slow connections or can’t setup their machine for BitTorrent, or finally those who want to use BitTorrent for shadier purposes than myself and don’t want to be identified or incirminated.

The website says it will take 24 – 48 hours to set up, although I have read a few horror stories saying it can take up to 10 days, but for £5, you can’t go too wrong. It remains to be seen how good or bad this venture turns out to be, and unless it goes very wrong, I won’t mention the name of the company I am renting from.

Update: See my review of Biohost here.

Luke

Leave a Reply

