Flashing lines of pixels on monitor

Tonight I experienced something very peculiar and unnerving. While browsing the internet (the BBC UK political party poll ratings graph to be precise) I very gently touched my computer case with my foot, and fought nothing of it. However, a few seconds later, I noticed a number of vertical lines of pixels spanning the entire width of the monitor which were flashing. The machine had been up for a few days and folding with the graphics card, so I assumed that it had simply overheated or the driver had stopped working correctly, so I shutdown and left it for an hour.

When I rebooted, the lines had gone. However, after a few minutes, they returned (although there were only two lines now). At this point I decided that the graphics card must be dying. After all, it is second hand and about 2 years old (although it still performs well). I searched the internet for a while looking for forum posts or likewise on this subejct, but didn’t find anything specific to my problem.

I was just about to accept that I would have to spend £100+ on a new card when it crossed my mind to try the simplest thing possible. So, not really expecting anything to happen, I pushed the DVI cable from the monitor into the graphics card further and it went in about 5mm more. Along with this, all the lines were immediately gone, and the problem appears to be fixed.

This just goes to show that sometimes things can be fixed in much simpler ways than you initially expect!

 

Luke

1 Comment

  1. Caron Flynn said,

    2009/11/25 at 8:54 am

    I fink you’re very clever!


Leave a Reply

